Books / Contemporary Fiction

Thoughts on “The Casual Vacancy” from a Member of the Potter Generation

J.K. Rowling’s latest book The Casual Vacancy was released on Thursday. This work is a book for adults and doesn’t quite leave the reader with the same magical glow as her other novels. Although I don’t usually tend towards tragic comedies, I picked up a copy straightaway and started reading. Yes, it was because the book was written by J.K. Rowling. But is that a bad thing? If she had published it under another name, I, like many others, likely would have passed it over.

The Casual Vacancy has received mixed reviews.

New York Times critic said of the book, “Unfortunately, the real-life world she has limned in these pages is so willfully banal, so depressingly clichéd that ‘The Casual Vacancy’ is not only disappointing — it’s dull.”

Publisher’s Weekly also commented on The Casual Vacancy‘s “dullness” stating “while the characters are all well drawn and believable, they aren’t much fun.”

Comparisons to Harry Potter abound. The Associated Press claims that, “This isn’t a book that’s easy to fall in love with, the way Harry Potter was with its charming, winning hero and his plucky friends, saving the world from evil with the help of a powerful spell or two. Even with its moments of humor, it’s a hard story where some people just don’t get saved, because really, they never had a chance.”

There were a few positive comments in the mix. About the quality of the characters. The tragicomic humor.

Still, I read The Casual Vacancy all the way through. Why? I see it as Rowling’s challenge to people of my generation, the twenty-somethings.

I grew up with Harry Potter. I read the first books when I was in elementary school and the final book as I entered college. While I was already a big reader, the Harry Potter books nurtured and reinforced my love of reading as I grew. And, for many others, the Harry Potter books were the first books they had read in years. Or, the books that made them love to read for the first time.

J.K. Rowling has been challenging young people in particular to read and to expand what their literary appetites for years. Yet, people stuck with the Harry Potter books, even as they started to get darker, more adult, and confronted serious issues. The magical world of Harry Potter has been easing us into mature reading for years,  like bitter medicine in a cup of scrumptious hot chocolate.

The Casual Vacancy is simply Rowling’s challenge denuded of chocolate. Yes, it may not be the funnest book around. And yes, it’s not something you will fall in love with.

But that’s all the more reason why you should read it. Not all reading can be fun. The Casual Vacancy depicts the raw reality of life in an artful way while tackling big issues. It will make you think hard. And, as Rowling said in an interview, it had better make you cry. But you will get a lot out of it.

Are you ready for J.K. Rowling’s latest challenge? Take the leap with J.K. and me.

 

~ Michelle

 

For more reviews of The Casual Vacancy, see:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/arts-post/post/the-casual-vacancy-the-reviews-are-in/2012/09/27/4c68b1dc-081c-11e2-858a-5311df86ab04_blog.html

13 thoughts on “Thoughts on “The Casual Vacancy” from a Member of the Potter Generation

  1. Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are
    a group of volunteers and starting a new project
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

    • Thank you very much! I’m sorry for the delay. I only just realized that wordpress has extremely aggressive spam filters and your comment accidentally got included in the pile. Best of luck with your blog! Perseverance is the key to success in most endeavors 🙂

  2. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog article or vice-versa?

    My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

    • Hello Danuta. Thank you for your comment and your compliment. I might be interested in guest blogging; however, I am only writing on books and publishing at the moment. If you have a particular idea or theme in mind, feel free to approach me again. Once again, sorry for the delay. Aggressive spam filter strikes once more!

  3. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    help from an established blog. Is it very hard to set up your own blog?

    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own
    but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks

    • Hello Lois. Sorry for the delay. WordPress has been hiding comments on me again. Setting up a blog can take some time. I have been happy with wordpress.com so far. They offer many templates and their support help is extensive. They also have a number of videos which walk you through the process of creating a blog step by step. I’m sure the happiness engineers at wordpress would be happy to guide you through the process of creating a blog. Best of luck!

  4. Great blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any community forums that cover the same
    topics talked about in this article? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

    • Hmm, that’s a very good question, Josefina. I haven’t come across any other blogs on wordpress which have written about “The Casual Vacancy.” So, I’m afraid I can’t be of any help on that front. There are, however, a number of great blogs about books and publishing on wordpress. If you would like, I could point you to a few that I follow. Cheers to you as well! And, sorry for the delay. Malfunctioning spam filter.

  5. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple,
    yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal. I must say that you’ve
    done a superb job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on
    Firefox. Exceptional Blog!

    • Thank you, Agustin. It’s always nice to know that your work is appreciated. Unfortunately, I can’t take all of the credit. WordPress has wonderful templates to chose from, so most of the kudos should go to them! Hope to hear from you again.

  6. Hello there just happened upon your website via Yahoo after I typed in, “Thoughts on The Casual Vacancy from a member of the Potter generation The Modern Manuscript ~”
    or something similar (can’t quite remember exactly). In any case, I’m glad
    I found it because your subject material is exactly what I’m looking for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind
    if I collect some information from here and I will of course credit you
    as the reference. Thank you very much.

    • Hello Haley. Best of luck with your paper and thank you for your honesty in agreeing to cite me as a reference. Plagiarism is a major problem these days. This being said, I don’t know that I would recommend using a blog as a reference for a college paper. Before you do so, you might want to ask your professor or TA if they have restrictions on what you can use as sources. If they don’t have a problem, I would be honored to be quoted. Glad to help jump start creative thinking!

  7. Hello! I hope you do not mind but I decided to post your blog:
    https://themodernmanuscript.wordpress.com/2012/09/29/thoughts-on-the-casual-vacancy-from-a-member-of-the-potter-generation/ to
    my on-line directory. I used, “Thoughts on The Casual Vacancy from a member of the Potter generation The Modern Manuscript ~” as your web site title.
    I hope this is ok with you. However, if you’d like me to change the title or perhaps remove it completely, email me at fidelmontano@googlemail.com. Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

