Books / Non-Fiction

Job Hunting Literature: What Should You Be Reading?

Job hunting books are a dime a dozen. I realized this after taking a look at the career literature section of my local library which spanned a dizzying number of bookcases. How do you decide what to read? I had no idea.

This was my first job hunt. Before, I applied to graduate school and the process was very different. I needed a good place to start. So, I picked out fifteen or so books published in the past two years with interesting titles. Here is what I distilled from my first round of books:

General job hunting books are about 95% repetition packaged with new wording/examples and 5% innovation. Also, they tend towards breadth of information rather than depth. Still, I would recommend reading a few of these types of books. For example, What Color is your Parachute?  or Cracking the New Job Market: Seven Rules for Getting Hired in Any Economy.

You can also take a look at books which are designed for certain groups of people. As a recent college graduate and an introverted female, I looked at I Got My Dream Job and So Can You (written by a young alum) and Confessions of an Introvert: The Shy Girl’s Guide to Career, Networking, and Getting the Most Out of Life.

There are also job hunting books which specialize in a certain niche of the career search. Resume books, Linkedin books, etc.

Probably the most helpful job hunting book I have read thus far is Guerrilla Marketing for Job Hunters 3.0. Why, you may ask?

Guerrilla Marketing distinguishes itself from the pack by being unusually innovative  and deep for a job hunting book. Perhaps this is because it’s a different breed of book.

It’s an “ideas” job hunting book. It’s filled with lots of creative, a bit out there, tech-savvy ways to find a job. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend just using Guerrilla Marketing, but it’s an essential tool in your belt.

The book does have a few drawbacks: it’s more oriented toward people who are fearlessly extroverted and who have had a professional career with “quantifiable” results. Also, the book’s gimmicks likely lose their originality fast as more and more people apply them.

Rather than using plans straight out of the book, I would recommend using Guerrilla Marketing as a source of inspiration to come up with creative tactics of your own.

Happy hunting!

 

~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

